The Obelisk   (back to top)

22 November 2015

2015 titleholders: Mike Bell

Event: Nine turned up and Mike Bell was the clear winner with 18 points and Tim Becker winning the battle for The Croc.

Tournament Organiser:
Nick Hillyard

2015 Results: Click here



                The Bobbick    (back to top)

(or The Golden Putter)

Sunday 7 February 2016

2016 titleholder: Rick Butler/Rob Lowndes (13 putts)

2016 Event - TD Nick's report: 

A glorious day at The Royal with Thornto continuing his excellent midweek form to score 21 with a wipe on the last and the Mini-Major resulting in a two way tie with Ricky B and Rob L sharing the balls and losing one shot each, with 13 putts.

The course was in great condition with not a breath of wind and the greens were just moist enough to reduce the subtle borrows so who can explain the putting where 13 was 2 or 3 putts better than the average for the day?

Good to see AW back for coffee as well as Ken 'must have slept in' Miller who graced us with his belated presence (we didn't fall for the old 'I'll wear the shirt so that they think I played' trick though Ken!).

Click here for stableford results.

2016 Results:
Past winners:
 Player  Putts
 Rick Butler 13
 Rob Lowndes 13
 Tim Becker 17
 Steve Figgis 17
 Nick Hillyard 17
 Gary Skulander 17
 Peter Thornton 17
 Rick Chadwick 19
 Steve Urwin 19
 Year  Winner  Putts
 2016  Rick Butler/Rob Lowndes 13
 2014  Nick Hillyard 9
 2013  Rick Chadwick 13
 2012  Rob Lowndes 13
 2011  Nick Hillyard 12
 2010  Rob Lowndes 13
 2009  Rob Lowndes 14
 2008  Alan Waddington ?
 2007  Rick Butler 14
 2006  Peter Macdougall 12
 2005  Peter Thornton 12
 2004  Nick Hillyard 13
 2003  Tim Becker (MOST putts!) 18

TD: Nick Hillyard


Saint Mary McKillop Miracle Open   (back to top)
(Note name change since canonisation in October 2010

TUESDAY 26 January 2016

Tournament Director:  Peter Thornton

2016  Rules for the Day:

• Back Nine white marks
• SMERG handicaps ( to be validated by the Webmeister)
• Groups to be drawn in the usual manner;
• Two balls in please
• Winner on Stableford takes the trophy and at least half the balls.
• Nearest the pin in one on the 16th (~2 balls);
• Longest drive on the 14th on the cut fairway of the 14th hole (~2 balls);
• Most “miraculous” shot in each group by acclamation of the group (~one ball each) – must be a accompanied by a full blown narrative by that group’s scorer;
• Stableford winner able to win any other category and loses 1 shot as it’s only a nine hole minor major.
• Losing group pays for coffee (using count back if a draw)

2016 Results:
Played on a humid morning after overnight rain.
Click here for individual results.

 Winner  Nick Hillyard - 20 points and loss of one shot
 Longest drive 14th  Steve Urwin
 NTP 16th  Nick Hillyard
 Miracles  One from each team - all verified
 Coffee  Group 1 (Butler, Lowndes, Chadwick, Skulander)
 Individual scores  See Results page



THE DAWN PATROL  (back to top)


Monday,  26th April 2016 (24th Year)

TD Alan Waddington


Played each year at Royal Northbridge Golf Club on ANZAC Day

The longest running SMERGS major.  Played over the back nine until 2007.  In 2008 and 2009 played over 18 holes.
In 2010 rain prevented play on 25th April and the event was played over the back nine the following day, a public holiday.

In 2011 rain again prevented play on Anzac Day and just four intrepid SMERGS turned up on the following day (a public holiday due to Easter Monday) to play in intermittent rain.

In 2012, played over the first ten holes which proved popular as 12 intrepid SMERGS did battle with the unfamiliar holes.

In 2013. TD Alan reverted to the back nine format.

In 2016

ANZAC Day dawned, almost as lovely a morning as The Day Before the Dawn Patrol. SMERGS walked to the tenth tee, eleven players with the only absentees either serving overseas, wounded or (Tim) attending the Dawn Service. We were pleased to welcome back to the fold, Russ Higlett, NTP 1993.

Our own Dawn Service was less auspicious than it has been in the past with the dawn chorus of bugle and kookaburras on those occasions. This year it was The Ode, a contemplative silence in remembrance, then the contest.

Three groups teed off with the range of scores fairly compact and with Mike Bell victorious.

The Croc was unfortunately never in doubt as Russ Higlett struggled with ongoing shoe repairs, firstly one shoe – then the other. He ultimately finished “ sole-less” but we look forward to welcoming him to join us again in the future in a new pair of golf shoes!

The lovely day finished at our house for luncheon and a thoroughly enjoyable social time seemed to be well enjoyed by all SMERGS and their ladies.

 2016  Results:               Click here for individual results

 The Winner

 Mike Bell
 NTP 17th  Nick Hillyard
 Longest Drive 18th  Peter Thornton
 Best team  Gary S, Peter B, Nick H, Peter T


 (back to top)